Determination of a Planet as Malefic or Benefic

Needless to say, we all know the classification of planets as being natural malefic or natural benefic. Jupiter, Venus, Moon are considered natural Benefics. Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu and Ketu are natural Malefics.  Mercury is natural Neutral.
However, individually for a native a natural benefic planet can functionally turn into a malefic. The Moolatrikon sign of a planet brings in this functionality. As a rule, for a given lagna; If a mulatrikona sign  of any planet falls in the 6th, 8th, or 12th houses, then the planet ruling that sign becomes a functional malefic for that person.

 LAGNA SIGN          

FUNCTIONAL MALEFICS                     

Aries  Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
Taurus  Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
Gemini  Rahu, Ketu
Cancer  Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu
Leo  Moon, Rahu, Ketu
Virgo  Sun, Mars, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu
Libra  Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
Scorpio  Venus, Mars, Rahu, Ketu
Sagittarius  Moon, Rahu, Ketu
Capricorn  Sun, Jupiter, Rahu, Ketu
Aqauarius      Moon, Mercury, Rahu, Ketu
Pisces  Sun, Venus, Saturn, Rahu, Ketu